I'd say this is a feature request.
Use case: I'm often transferring projects from a laptop to another machine or vice-versa. This involves creating compressed tar archives and deleting the project directory before unpacking. Usually this is done by a script which does that all for me. As soon as thunar detects the directory has been deleted, its bookmark is removed from the shortcut pane. Hurray! Now I can work my way through the filesystem hierarchy to find the directory and add it back to the shortcut pane.
Another use case that might affect more people: Imagine you're dealing with network resources that are not mounted permanently and not via GVFS. You're moving your laptop to another place where that resource is unavailable. Bookmarks lost, great.
But in general: Why does thunar automatically delete the bookmark that the user has added for a good reason before, interfering with the user's personal workflow? It's just two clicks to delete the bookmarks, and that wouldn't be too much work if it had to be done manually. It'd be more work to add the bookmark back automatically.
How about simply adding a deleted emblem (that famous red cross thingy that is usually found on delete buttons) to the icon to indicate the resource does not exist anymore, or simply ignore the fact that the directory has been deleted? What's the reasoning behind bookmarks getting deleted by thunar?
I also tried bookmarking network drives and it just doesn't work. Since the network drive is not always mounted, they get removed. It's strange because it seems that Thunar can support them. I can add them as a bookmark and click on them just fine, but as you mention, when it identifies that it doesn't exist, it deletes it.
Please have an eye on this issue. It should be a trivial fix not to remove unreachable bookmarks.
I use autofs for some network mounts on my laptop that are only available if I'm in that network. My bookmarks on these always get removed.
Btw. It seems that the bookmarks are still present in ~/.config/gtk-3.0/bookmarks but not shown at "places".
+1 for this feature request.. I use sshfs and have to re-add bookmarks several times daily, a real pain.. Please look into this request.
-- GitLab Migration Automatic Message --
This bug has been migrated to xfce.org's GitLab instance and has been closed from further activity.
You can subscribe and participate further through the new bug through this link to our GitLab instance: https://gitlab.xfce.org/xfce/thunar/-/issues/47.
Please create an account or use an existing account on one of our supported OAuth providers.
If you want to fork to submit patches and merge requests please continue reading here: https://docs.xfce.org/contribute/dev/git/start#gitlab_forks_and_merge_requests
Also feel free to reach out to us on the mailing list https://mail.xfce.org/mailman/listinfo/xfce4-dev